Clarifying Considerations

A few weeks ago I was a participant on the Sound Tectonics workshops organised by Space Under Magazine in Athens.  Whilst there I was inundated with amazing input from different tutors all coming from various disciplines.  One such tutor Jon Goodbun presented us with a talk about Cybernetics, introducing us to concepts concerning complex systems and feedback loops.  This was my first real taste of these specific concepts and they struck a cord with elements with my art practice and within my work as a snowboard trainer.  Now that I have left Athens where I was on an artist residency run by SNEHTA I am now able to consolidate some of the things I experienced on Sound Tectonics and my time in Athens.  On researching more about Cybernetics its intriguing to realise the areas of science and humanities that it draws on or influences.  Obviously seeing its influence on art movements and artists is a direct concern.  One artist who seems to stand in both the cybernetics field as much as the art world is Roy Ascott.  This image of Roy giving a talk gave me more words and ideas to consider, some resonating instantly and others making me head to Google to find out more.  Just like my time on the Sound Tectonics and now following with this initial research I find myself engaged and enthused with the possibilities of what new perspectives can be learnt.

 

roy-ascott-web

Leave a Reply

