LEARNING THE LINGO..NEW WORKING PROCESS>>

P1180271 20

I am well over half way through my residency here in Athens.  The experience has given me time to reflect and focus not just on the proposed new works I hope to start working on but give me new perspectives on continuing themes within my practice.  The city has given me plenty more new ideas for future works and added to existing ideas, bolstering concerns ongoing.

As I posted recently I attended Urban Lightscapes Symposium which definitely gave me a wake up on certain areas of my practice and again reminded me to consider a wider practice.  This past weekend I started some workshops for the upcoming Sound Tectonics that is happening this coming week.  These workshops introduced both Processing and Arduino which I have used before but allowed me to understand further the benefits of such tools.  The workshops were long but really good and I feel a little more capable with these tools now, even considering future projects using Processing that prior to these I would of tried other methods first.  So I am getting excited for the whole week coming up which should give me new thoughts and ideas as to where I am going with sound within my practice.

The Glitch works I have been working on have started to come together.  I have had to really think before starting these new works of how to order my process.  Considering a language that will allow me to find each sample and know where I found it and where I could use it.  This has meant I have had to label each sample either using a systematic approach of 1-28/A-S or more descriptive BW Slow Fade Whisper Crackles, Silent Double Beeps.  I have attached a test run of a track that I am in the process of putting together based of the image above.  The abandoned airport here in Athens, Ellinikon.  The track uses 12 samples currently of this image mainly Black and White though some colour samples as well.  I have not yet used any effects on these samples so the track is pure Glitch image with only the volume adjusted.  Have a listen and let me know what you think, I will post the track in its next form once I use a bit of artistic license and use effects to manipulate the sounds a little and add some midi samples.

Leave a Reply

