When is failing failure?

Last week I was part of a final year group exhibition that took place at Whitespace gallery here in Edinburgh.  The work I proposed was un-tried and un-tested yet I hoped would work.  Half an hour prior to the opening I made the decision that it was too late in the day to get the mechanics to function the way I had intended so decided to just hang the piece sans-movement.  This failure to install was something that I for some reason seemed ok with.  Whether it was because throughout the day there had been many warnings or compromises I am not sure however I seemed to gain a sense of elation from not completing a project as hoped.  This new feeling is something that has played on my mind this past week whilst the show was open and on de-installing the show today I still have no regrets.  I think this process of failing to complete has actually taught me more than if I were to have installed the work as hoped.  Maybe similar to life in snowboarding where to learn anything new you first have to accept the fact there will be many failures is what I am used to and now experiencing with an actual project.  Maybe also that I feel that I am challenging my process to the point where I am not able to become detached from the work as its still requires focus and thorough planning.  I will overcome these problems that I have encountered and hope the lessons learned have progressed the work not just in resolving problems but actually physically working with a space and being able to envision the project from a new perspective.  I am not seeking to fail however it is refreshing to learn so much from one such small project.  The world did not end and I will keep on making so whats the worst that can happen.

Dickie

Leave a Reply

