Sonification of the Everyday…

Recently I have been working on data bending RAW photographs through a sound program called Audacity.  I am trying to push the sounds I create and see it being a live performance if I am able to find the right software to deliver this process.  In a sense I am trying to expand the spaces I experience and then literally expose a further space or element within a captured 2D image to represent the existence of that which is hidden within.  I am currently trying to learn and explore Pure Data and Processing as possible means to develop these early ideas.  Whilst doing this I came across a lot of artists and new media whizz kids who are exploring what seems to be titled sonification.  There are many different outputs and realisations of this genre and one favourite so far is this piece by Dennis P Paul

Here is his website

1 comment

Leave a Reply

